Newspaper Archive of
The LaFayette Sun
The Lafayette Sun began publishing in 1841 as the Alabama Standard and adopted its current name on August 3, 1881. In 1939 H.H. Golson purchased the paper and in 1940 he hired Bonnie D. Hand as managing editor. His wife, Pearl H. Hand was listed as Assistant Publisher. The Hands bought The Sun in 1944. Bonnie Hand died in 1967 at the age of 54, and his wife Pearl became publisher. He was posthumously inducted into the Alabama Newspaper Hall of Honor in 1972, giving The Sun the record of being the only newspaper in the state with three publishers enshrined in the Hall. Then, in late 1989, Pearl Hughes Hand died in late 1989, leaving the paper to her son, Mike Hand. In 2014, Mike Hand sold the LaFayette Sun to Mike Wilcox, ending the Hand family’s 74 years of ownership.
Today, The LaFayette Sun is located in downtown LaFayette and provides news and advertising to several thousand readers in LaFayette, Valley, Lanett, and Chambers County.
A more in-depth history of the LaFayette Sun can be found here.
We welcome you to browse our archive and see our rich history for yourself.